Candidates - Primary Election


See the full calendar on the Candidate Filing Information page.

  • The last day to file an objection to filing is December 11, 2023.
  • The last day to withdraw from the ballot is January 17, 2024.
  • The last day for write-in candidates to file is January 18, 2024.

2024 Candidate Records

Candidate filing began Monday, November 27 at 8:00 am and ran through Monday, December 4 at 5:00 pm. Adjust column width to view all content in a given column. Scroll right on the table to view all available fields.

Some offices displayed in the Local Candidates List may show multiple candidates of the same political party for a County Board District. Note there are 2-year-unexpired and 4-year terms. This will result in two separate races to appear on the ballot. In these situations, the primary race is not contested.

view quick list of candidates

view list of federal and state candidates

Local Candidates

To be Nominated

  • President of the United States
  • Representatives in Congress - All 17 Districts
  • State Senators
    • For 4-year terms: 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, 16, 19, 22, 25, 28, 31, 34, 37, 40, 43, 46, 49, 52, 53, 55, and 58.
  • Representatives in the General Assembly - All 118 Districts
  • Sanitary District Commissioners/Trustees
  • Circuit Clerks
  • Recorders (in counties with a population of 60,000 or more inhabitants)
  • State's Attorneys
  • Auditors (in counties with a population over 75,000 and under 3,000,000)
  • Coroners
  • Regional Superintendent of Schools (vacancies)
  • County Commissioners (Counties not under township organization)
  • County Board Members (Counties under township organization)
  • Judges (Additional Judgeships if required)
    • Supreme Court Judges, Vacancies will be filled
    • Appellate Court Judges, Vacancies will be filled
    • Circuit Court Judges, Vacancies will be filled
    • Resident Circuit Court Judges, Vacancies will be filled
    • Subcircuit Judges, Vacancies will be filled

To be Elected

  • Delegates and Alternate Delegates (in accordance with approved Delegate Selection Plans)
  • Precinct Committeepersons (all counties, excluding Cook)

Ballot Order

Ballot order is set by Illinois State statute. (10 ILCS 5/7-19(2)).

  1. President of the United States
  2. State offices
  3. Congressional offices
  4. Delegates and alternate delegates
  5. Trustees of sanitary districts
  6. County offices
  7. Judicial offices
  8. Municipal offices (municipalities with annual elections)
  9. Precinct committeepersons